Linguistic confusion

puff

Last week, during our weekly visit to some grocery stores, I started laughing in the store, when I passed one employee. The funny thing was, she had a nameplate saying “Sanane“, which is not really a Swedish name, as far as I can tell. I never heard this name before, but in Turkish “sane ne” means, nothing else than “(It is) not of your concern(!)“.

Today, I had to pick up a package for my wife with presents for our prospective child. Among many nice cloths and sweets I found a cap in it, which really surprised me (the one shown here). Despite the fact, that we told almost everyone, that we are expecting a boy we got a cap with three little girls on it. On the back side it has an inscription, namely “THE POWERPUFF GIRLS“. I never heard about this brand, until I asked Mr. Google, who told me that it is a known cartoon. Even though I don’t think there are colors and motives solely for boys or girls, I am not sure what to do with this cap. I reminds me too much on the German word “puff“, which can mean brothel. Too much confusion for a wannabe father.

4 Responses to “Linguistic confusion”


  1. 1 Vero January 3, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Du kanske kan sy om den till en solhatt? Du kan väl klistra på ett stålmannenmärke istället för Power-puffarna om du tycker de är för tjejiga… 😉

  2. 2 ferramis January 3, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Det är inte för tjejigt, men jag gillar inte tanken att nån tysk kompis har samma dåliga tankar. Tänker jag för mycket?

  3. 3 timmy January 4, 2007 at 8:05 am

    strunta i vad andra tycker.

  4. 4 tirtfahrettin January 5, 2007 at 2:39 am

    linguistic confussions are pretty funny. As i talked to my aunt, who is staying for 4 months in Damascus, people say “tuzlamak” for farting.

    huh, to prevent odor maybe.


Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories


