Italian hand gestures …

… or why I am not sure if I need to learn Italian. I am planing to spend few weeks or maybe up to three month in Northern Italy this coming summer. Few of my colleagues at work are Italian and it seems to me that they communicate purely with their hands. Few of them are quite useful and it is quite convenient to use them instead of speaking. An Italian course at our university starts next week and I and a colleague missed the application deadline, but nevertheless we are trying to get on this course to learn some basics, despite our few impressive hand gestures :). A list with certain hand gestures can be found elsewhere in the Internet. A short video with the most important gestures is also available and even though I wasn’t sure to include it in my blog due to its harsh/crude language I decided to mention it at least here, because – as far as I can tell from my Italian environment – it is common language to them. I hope they will have two places left at the Italian course, otherwise I will be left with my hand gestures.

Finally, here a funny and adequate clip from Russell Peters:

3 Responses to “Italian hand gestures …”


  1. 1 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


  1. 1 Most read and arabic « wAnNaBe NeRd Trackback on March 20, 2007 at 4:50 am
  2. 2 Learning Italian « wAnNaBe NeRd Trackback on May 27, 2007 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories


