Snow, Global warming and sugklockan

Finally, after month of waiting it is snowing in Stockholm. It was snowing sometime in November, but since then we didn’t see much of it. Now it seems winter is coming, few month too late, but I hope to see more of it. For those who are not so lucky, see here. The last link might seem needles, but there are people how haven’t seen snow (I recall a friend from South Africa who visited us few years ago in Germany and when it started to snow, she was so excited that I recall seeing tears in her eyes). Who knows if we in few decades will still be able to see snow in our latitudes, thanks to global warming. Prof. Källén, from MISU, gave few days ago a lecture about this topic and I admit I didn’t know much about it.

Few days ago, when attending the course for becoming parents, they mentioned the sugklockan, a vacuum pump attached to the babies head to pull it out in cases where the pressure drop in the pipe is too big, or the inner pressure is not high enough to press the baby out (for further confusing see the previous post). OK, the last part of the sentence is my understanding of delivering a baby, so don’t pay much attention.

Anyhow, I wanted to learn more about this device, because it seemed quite antique to me to attach a vacuum pump to the babies head and then pull the poor little thing out. What if the head gets off, or something else happens? So, I tried to find the German pendant. Apparently it is Saugglocke and plunger in German and English, respectively. As usual I asked Wikipedia and found this.

Fortunately, they showed a picture of the device at the course, otherwise I would really think that they would use this nice read plunger to pull out my little baby.

2 Responses to “Snow, Global warming and sugklockan”


  1. 1 proggiemuslima January 21, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Ouch! You scared me with the picture of the plunger. I’m relieved that “sugklockan” does not actually involve a combination of “the plumber’s friend” and “the baby’s head.” 😉

  2. 2 ferramis January 28, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    You’re comment landed in my spam folder I don’t know why. Luckily I found it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories


