How to write a paper?

My baby is finally getting some sleep. Laundry is in the dryer and I have few minutes to think about the paper(s) I have to start writing. This explains the last post about finding a quick solution to my problem. The next step would be to find a guideline on how to write a paper. I read a book about scientific writing few month ago, but it didn’t help me a lot. Since then I started looking for helpful guidelines, but wasn’t really successful. However, I found a rather funny guideline, while surfing on one of my favorite pages on the Internet: Research that makes people LAUGH and then THINK

You might remember the post about Penguin poo(h) , which brought me to the latter page. “How to write a scientific paper?” is a very amusing article that had to be posted here. Here, a short excerpt:

How To Write A Scientific Paper

by E. Robert Schulman
Charlottesville, Virginia

Abstract
We (meaning I) present observations on the scientific publishing process which (meaning that) are important and timely in that unless I have more published papers soon, I will never get another job. These observations are consistent with the theory that it is difficult to do good science, write good scientific papers, and have enough publications to get future jobs.

1. Introduction
Scientific papers (e.g. Schulman 1988; Schulman & Fomalont 1992; Schulman, Bregman, & Roberts 1994; Schulman & Bregman 1995; Schulman 1996) are an important, though poorly understood, method of publication. They are important because without them scientists cannot get money from the government or from universities. They are poorly understood because they are not written very well (see, for example, Schulman 1995 and selected references therein).

continue reading here

PS: I think I am not as clear as usual, but I am excused, due to the baby. I hope I can use him often as an alibi.

PPS: This article is also helpful (and funny) in understanding “Interpreting Statements in Scientific Papers”.

0 Responses to “How to write a paper?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Categories


