From peeing to puking

I lost my patience with the “Peeing on daddy” contest (part 1, 2 and 3), because our son doesn’t pee so often on people anymore. Hence, hereby I close the sampling of “peeing on people” incidents and go over to something else. Around the same time our son lost his affection towards peeing on people he started to puke on them. During the usual Bäuerchens (burp? I am not sure how to translate it correctly. Are there some Germans out there, who could shed light on the subject?) he pukes quite often. We were told that he should aufstoßen (belch?) before we fill him up completely with breast milk, but he pumps quite a lot out every time I perform the Bäuerchen on him. I am not sure how he functions, but I am not completely wrong, if I shake him a little bit in order to extort a Rülpser (also belch?) from him? At least that’s what I remember from the lectures at the hospital. I mean its all about fluids, isn’t it? Milk in, urine and excrement out, that’s the black box I was told of a baby has to be the first weeks. But now he is almost puking against time. Today, I am on pappaledig (that’s when daddy stays at home to look after the baby, how would one translate that into English or German?) for 50%, just for the time my wife is following her courses at university, and within 1 hour he puked 3 times on me. I even shook him several times after each puking in order to be sure that I can change my shirt. But he managed somehow to find some milk in his body to puke it again on me. There are so many bugs and since how many years have there been babies now and still there is no list with common bugs I could print out and follow whenever he does something unexpected. Mommy is coming home soon, baby is finally sleeping and I had some time to check my emails. I am wondering how many hours he will let us sleep this night? But how much he pees or pukes on me, every time he smiles everything what happened is immediately forgotten.

4 Responses to “From peeing to puking”


  1. 1 bilingualandmore February 21, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    Both is called burping – the padding on the back to make him burp and the action itself. Here is a point – don’t shake him! That will do the exact opposit. Try this – sit him on your lap, letting his upper body rest on one hand, slightly forward, to hold his body up and his head as well, while leaving his stomach uncompressed and gently pad his back. That worked wonders for our second daughter who was an excessive puker. Milk puke is so extremely smelly, and disgusting. It always looks more than it actually is, though.
    Good luck!

  2. 2 ferramis February 21, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Hej, Today our pediatrist said almost the same, so I am not anymore shaking him to make him burp, even though I didn’t shake him like a milkshake, but rather slightly like when trying to get air bubbles out of a tube filled with liquid. I hope to get some more answers on many of my other German-English questions 🙂

  3. 3 Amouna February 22, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Salam Ramis,

    Tante Amouna sagt: Speihkinder sind Gedeihkinder. 🙂 Solange da nix schwallartig rauskommt, würde ich mir keine Sorgen machen. Den Geruch von saurer Milch wird man in den ersten 6 Monaten ohnehin schwer los, gewöhn’ dich also schonmal dran. Das gute ist, dass man’s irgendwann gar nicht mehr wahrnimmt, sondern einfach nur noch mechanisch saubermacht. Auch die Kleinsten müssen erstmal lernen, wie gegessen wird und wann das Bäuchlein voll ist. Wassalam, Amouna.


  1. 1 PuKe MaStEr « wAnNaBe NeRd Trackback on April 29, 2007 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Categories


