Experimental fluid dynamics

Experimentalists know that the ratio of preparation time to the time of performed experiments which are useful is quite high. This can be anticipated from the following two pictures, which show the needed equipment for a flow vizualisation (a simple not much saying image). I had to drink several cups of coffee until I found the right amount of cream or milk to get a nice image of the large scale (the rotating structure) and small scale (the mixing of the concentration) mixing. I couldn’t sleep the whole night and was quite active the following day.

vorberg

Now it is much more clearer, that nice fluid dynamical images in laboratories do not just appear, one has hard to try to capture it.

6 Responses to “Experimental fluid dynamics”


  1. 1 pistolpete March 28, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    I think staying up all night was the least you could do in the interest of science.

  2. 2 timmy March 29, 2007 at 6:28 am

    How was this different from any other day?

  3. 3 Veronica March 29, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Men vänta… det där har du väl gjort flera gånger förut? Så alltså borde du ha lärt dig hur man gör? 😉

  4. 4 ferramis March 29, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    pete: I do not think that science or humanity will benefit in any way of the home made experiments I conducted. 😦
    @timmy: I do not drink coffee during nights and I do also “normal” things at home
    @vero: dem har jag gjört sista året. Jag har inte repeterat dem igen 🙂 Oj do min svenska…

  5. 5 timmy March 30, 2007 at 7:26 am

    I mean obviously that you always are very active during days. Anyway that’s what I experience.

  6. 6 Alex Liberzon April 3, 2007 at 9:04 am

    great, I’ll add it to my Fascinating Flows 🙂


Leave a Reply

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories


