White noise against colic?

While working on some spectral analysis and listening to my son crying I somehow ended up on this side, which states:

Some people say that ‘white noise’ helps to soothe colicky babies. White noise is background, non-specific noise such as made by vacuum cleaners, washing machines, etc. You can even buy tapes of white noise which claim to soothe crying babies. Again, there is lack of proof that this is effective in most babies, but may be worth a try.

This means, that after my failed attempts to study the crying of babies (see here and here), that I could restart my work. Instead of looking on the spectral distribution I should have been more focused on the probability density distribution of his crying sound and try to modulate the sound distribution (by putting big things in his mouth?) in such a way that he radiates sounds close to a Gaussian distribution. At least that is what I thought, but Wikipedia taught me that white noise does not have to be Gaussian and vice versa. I learned something, ole!

Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories


