Learning Italian

Not much is left and than it is time to catch some new phrases in Italian in order to survive Italy. I bought some dictionaries, Italian<->Swedish for my wife and Italian<->English for me. I recovered some of my old Italian audio courses, which I started to listen again. But my iShuffle died recently, probably during the huge data transfer during the DSMC simulations, so I bought a cheap mp3 player yesterday which I intend to use now everyday on my way to work in order to be able to communicate at least the most important phrases in Italian. I also found the BBC language site, which offers online courses for different language; great service. And I am still looking to find a reference list for all the hand gestures one should know, but so far I just found the ones I already posted some while ago.

PS: Family Guy has of course something to contribute to Italy or Italians:

Unfortunately Family Guy is dubbed in Italy, which means that even if I would learn Italian in few month, which I won’t be able to, I couldn’t enjoy it as much as in the original version. Dubbed versions are really killing every sense of humor.

PPS: At least I have learnt how to read the time in Italy:

3 Responses to “Learning Italian”


  1. 1 Clinton July 10, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    I would love to watch the Family Guy in Italian! I wonder what Peter Griffin’s infections laugh would sound like?

  2. 2 ferramis July 10, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Don’t be so optimistic. All dubbed versions of Family Guy, i.e. German and Italian, are terrible. Even the laughing is not funny at all. Try youtube with “family guy ITA” or “griffin ITA” and you will get a lot of clips where his laugh can be found.

  3. 3 Clinton July 13, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    I have checked it out and you are absolutely right. I don’t even know why they need to dub the laugh? Peter’s stupid laugh is one of the highlights of the show so they have certainly ruined it.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories


