Italy, week TRE

This will be a rather short post. Just arrived home from Bologna. Rented a car for the weekend. Just before that I made fun of the Italian police cars, very often tiny little Fiat Puntos (to be fair, they also have Ferraris as police cars). And then I got a Punto myself and the Italian colleague said: “See, God exists!” Anyway its cheap and has AC, and I never was able to cross the limit of 120 km/h due to traffic jam. After 3 hours we arrived in Bologna (40 minutes on the way back). This time without nitric acid and hence much more time and freedom (I promised a story in the previous post, but there is none, it was just the idea that it could be thrilling, however it was really a very boring trip straight to the university and back with both hands and eyes on my back so that no one accidently shakes the nitric acid containing box. It was needed to etch some stainless steel to get a needle shaped wire, which will hopefully serve as a hot-wire prongs, but enough about that; back to Italy). We went to Nutelleria, a restautant serving only stuff with Nutella, even Pizza 🙂 (It is amazing what kind of Nutella and KinderSchokolade stuff they have in Italy compared to Germay or Sweden!) Unfortunately it wasn’t as good as expected. I guess there is a limit with things you can do with sweets, at some point it doesn’t make sense anymore, like my experience with sweets and bred.

bol1bol2bol3

Although I thought there was only one leaning tower (of Pisa) in Italy, I was happy to see another in Bologna. I am not sure, but the closer you come the more leaned it looks. On the other hand if you apply that measure on other buildings in Bologna they all look like tilted.

bol4bol5

There is more to come for week three, but this is enough for today. 12 hours out with our son on the highways and Bologna and many rest stops where we changed diapers in front of the cars and old ladies came to speak to him are enough. You can’t just go away, you have to wait until every lady had spoken to him.

3 Responses to “Italy, week TRE”


  1. 1 veroaero July 1, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Is is typical for guys from Germany to love nutella? I met a guy at the conference who told me all about nutella and how good it is. He even ate it on his crepes! =)

  2. 2 ferramis July 2, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I thought I was unnormal with my Nutella consumption, but since I am here I think I am quite normal. I remember that I only ate cornflakes with chocolate or Nutella for breakfast and dinner and ever since it is a MUST on our breakfast table. But here they are going too far. I wanted a Nutella drink at Nutelleria. Believe me I couldn’t drink all of it it was too sweet and fatty. Everything needs boundaries! But nutella on crepes is very normal!

  3. 3 veroaero July 3, 2007 at 5:03 am

    Hahaha..! Good to hear that even you have limits regarding Nutella. Although, I am not sure I believe you until I actually see you throw it away half full with my own eyes. 😉


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories


