Or am I?

After the declaration of my non-Turkishness I found a list with characteristics of Turks, of which some are true for me (ME) and some are true for my parents or the Turks I know (TRUE). So maybe after all I am not so different from those Turks, mmh.

You know you’re Turkish when….

-You think that the Turks are the most amazing race on the face of earth and everyone is jealous of us and try to destroy us (TRUE)
-You feel some kind of tension whenever you are around Greeks, Kurds or Armenians (unfortunately TRUE)
-Your mother can make yogurt from nothing (ME; and she forces us to eat everything she makes)
-MSN messenger is 100x better than AOL (ME)
-Your guy relatives look like Maffia during the holidays (ME)
-Your mother/father has a minor disagreement with his sister/brother and doesn’t talk to him for 10 years (unfortunately TRUE)
-You call an older person you have never met before “uncle”, “aunty” or abi (ME, but also “aunt”)
-You hide everything from your parents (ME; but not anymore)
-Your phone is always on silent (ME; most of the time)
-Your mother does everything for you if you are male (ME; regardless of my wishes, I don’t like it at all, but I liked it when I was young, very young)
-You do all the housework and cooking if you’re female (unfortunately TRUE; they even laugh at me if I do laundry, or do housework and call me “light erkek (man/male)”)
-Your relatives alone could populate a small city (not my, but generally TRUE)
-Everyone is a family friend or somehow related to you (TRUE; and therefore Turks often asked not only for your name, but also from which town/village your parents come from and if you know Dick and Harry –> German: Hinz und Kunz)
-You fight over who pays the dinner bill (ME; but I try to adjust)
-You get very upset when airlines refuses to accept your luggage which is 80 kg overweight (TRUE)
-You’re walking out of customs with your trolley at the airport and you see all 25 members of your family who have come to pick you up (TRUE)
-You ask your dad a simple question and he tells you story of how he had to walk miles to get to school (ME)
-You are always taking off and putting on your shoes wherever you go (ME)
-Your parents compare you to all of their friends kids (ME)
-No one ever seems to call ahead of time to say they are coming for a visit (TRUE)
-You talk with your guests at the door for 20-30 minutes when they are leaving (ME)
-You show your love and affection to people by physically hurting them
(esp. pinching, slapping, biting) (ME; especially German friends had to adjust to this habit)
-Grape leaves make a great dinner (ME)

0 Responses to “Or am I?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories


