Archive for December 27th, 2006

Learning a language … part 3

Lets move on to part three of our never-ending topic “learning a language”. Today: subtitles:

Nothing, just Stockholm

It is almost three years ago since I moved to the Capital of Scandinavia or Venice of the North, but I still carry a camera with me even when going shopping. The first picture shows the largest library in Sweden, Stockholms Public Library. Kungsgatan and Hötorget is shown in the second and third picture, respectively. As can be seen there neither snow  nor rain. Winter is behind schedule.

biboteliahötorget

Why dogs don’t stutter

Christmas is over and we went out for the first time since Friday. Finally I got a new bluetooth headset (Plantronics Explorer 340) for my PDA (HP Ipaq 2490b), the old one was “död” (swed.: dead; that’s what the certificate said when I got the new one back). I haven’t started yet with any of my intended works and I don’t have much hope left that I will do so.

Yesterday I stumbled about an excerpt from an article from 1935, published in the renown SCIENCE magazine by Hazle Geniesse (Science 29 November 1935: 518.). In his article, entitled “Stuttering” he reports:

“In a series of twenty-four cases of stuttering studied this summer in the laboratory of biolinguistics, at the University of Michigan, a marked improvement, even to a complete cessation of stuttering, was noted when the stutterer spoke while walking on all fours.” (taken from here)

I tested it yesterday at home and it seemed to help, but the intimate environment, which my home is, isn’t really a test case. I am not gonna rest upon this method, but I would still be interested to see if this would work in real “stuttering situations”, e.g. a job interview or when giving a seminar. Even if it would work, how would one feel in such a situation? But isn’t this science? To find means which increase or decrease a certain quantity.


December 2006
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories